Typing Faster

October 10, 2009

Friday Night Lights gets fantastical (part 2)…

Filed under: Friday Night Lights, Stuff I Like — petertypingfaster @ 1:10 pm

Why DirecTV is getting all fantastical, as opposed to sticking with trailers like this, is a little beyond me.

I was afraid of wanting anything.
I figured wanting would lead to trying, and trying would lead to failure.
But now I find I can’t stop wanting.
I want to surprise myself.
I want to lose and get over it.
I want to define myself, instead of having others define me.
I want to win and have people be happy for me.
I want to be the best person I can be.
I want to not be afraid of the unknown.
It’s not that I think I’m gonna get all these things.
I just want the possibility of getting them.
The possibility that things are going to change.

By the way, Tyra’s VO is taken from her college application essay featured in the penultimate episode of season 3, which, for my money, was one of the best episodes of the series.

It’s interesting to see the different types of trailers you can go with. The fantastical trailer from the previous post really doesn’t convey what the show’s about at all. It might be good to draw in new viewers (“hey, what the hell’s this about anyways?”), but for those of us who are fans of the show, or at least for me, it makes no sense at all.

The trailer featuring Tyra’s speech, though, perfectly encapsulates what this show is in my mind. Why you’d shy away from using that, or something similar, is beyond me.

Guess that’s why I don’t work in marketing.

Friday Night Lights returns October 28th on DirecTV, and god knows when on NBC.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

