Typing Faster

December 14, 2009

AFI’s 10 Best of 2009

Filed under: 10 Best — petertypingfaster @ 7:19 pm

The AFI released a list of its choice for the ten best films and television shows of 2009. They aren’t numerical lists, and aren’t broken down by comedies or dramas. There are some interesting picks, and some head scratchers.

Here are both the lists, a long with my relevant comments, though I have to admit that I missed most of these films.

Top Ten Films of 2009

Coraline

Missed it. Will definitely catch at some point.

The Hangover

I think this is a great choice. The Hangover is a perfectly executed buddy comedy. Definitely worth studying for anyone interested in writing mainstream, Ho’wood comedy.

The Hurt Locker

Another great choice. I wound up seeing this movie a couple of times, and was surprised at how well it held up. Interesting in that it was more of a character study than a flat out war piece. Kathryn Bigelow is one of my all time favorite action directors.

The Messenger

Missed it, though will probably catch it at some point. Clips remind me of a great doc called The Recruiter, though obviously not about the recruitment process.

Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire

Missed it. Not sure I really want to see it. Trailers make this look like one of the bleakest films I’ve ever seen.

A Serious Man

Missed it. I know a lot of people who loathe this movie with the fury of a thousand dying suns, then I know a few who think it’s brilliant. Will catch it on DVD at some point.

A Single Man

Hated the trailer. Might watch on DVD if the reviews are consistently good.

Sugar

Don’t remember even hearing about this flick.

Up

Great movie. Totally deserving of the pick.

Up in the Air

Want to see this. Love Jason Reitman.

Top Ten TV Shows of 2009

The Big Bang Theory

Been having a great season, though not sure I’d pick it as one of the best shows of 2009.

Big Love

This seems like a really strange choice to me. Big Love has been flying under the radar for a couple of years now, or at least under my radar, so I’m surprised to see it up this high.

Friday Night Lights

Hard to argue with this pick. Especially considering how amazing the first six odd episodes of season 4 have been.

Glee

I admit it, I was wrong about Glee. I wasn’t convinced back when the pilot first aired, and I will maintain that this show is probably one of the most uneven shows on television right now (right up there with 30 Rock). But it’s new, and it’s hip, so I can see why it gets a spot on the list.

Mad Men

Can’t argue with that.

Modern Family

Seems that when it comes to the new comedies this year, the writers I know fall into two camps. Those who think Community is the season’s best, and those who think that Modern Family kicks Community‘s ass. I belong to the latter group.

Modern Family is a perfectly executed sitcom. It may not be as cutting edge, but it’s practically perfect every single time out. It has heart, great characters and lots of laughs. Great, great choice.

The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency

This gets a bit of a “huh?” from me. There’s a lot I love about No. 1. It’s beautifully shot on location in Botswana. Jill Scott was a terrific casting choice. But at the end of the day this show feels…old. Weird choice.

Nurse Jackie

I love Nurse Jackie, I know a lot of you don’t, but I do. Yes, it was wildly inconsistent tonally and execution wise. Yes, a lot of its plot turns were a far from unique. But I don’t care. I’d be happy watching Edie Falco (and Eve Best!) read the phone book. Sue me.

Party Down

I absolutely love Party Down, so I’m glad to see it getting some respect. This is just another incredibly well written, well acted comedy. Funny as hell. Great choice.

True Blood

I don’t think it’s even possible to do a list like this and leave True Blood off, despite how much I may want to. True Blood is the it show right now, and while there’s a lot to like, the mere thought of seeing Sookie and Bill makes me want to claw my own eyes out. But I can see why people love it. So on the list it goes.

What does everyone else think? I’m in the midst of putting together my own list, which will hopefully be up in a few days.

1 Comment »

  1. I wouldn’t argue with most of these either (and love Party Down as well — yesss!).

    But I’m shocked to learn that Coraline is making lists. I was so disappointed. It’s a cool-looking movie that lacks joy and heart. (I love Neil Gaiman; just thought the movie blew.)

    Comment by Jennica — December 18, 2009 @ 11:10 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

