Typing Faster

December 28, 2009

Thoughts On Avatar

Filed under: Features — petertypingfaster @ 11:42 am

There will be spoilers, though if you’ve managed to still not be spoiled at this point I’d be most impressed.

Anyways.

So a few of my friends and I went to see Avatar the other day, and I was surprised at how our reactions were split right down the middle. Two of us loved it, two of us hated it.

Personally I loved it, and I’ll get to my reasons why, but first I wanted to address the reasons my friends gave for hating it.

There were two big complaints: the quality of the writing, and the originality of the idea, and you know I have a hard time dismissing those complaints.

This is not a particularly well written movie, James Cameron isn’t an immensely talented writer, and the underlying ideas have been fairly obviously pilfered from a bunch of other stories.

But you know what? I couldn’t care less.

I don’t care that the dialogue is more cliched than original. I don’t care that it was Dances With Wolves in space. I just flat out don’t care, and you know why?

Because I found the world of Pandora to be so incredibly engrossing. I loved everything about the world Cameron put up on screen. I love how the Na’avi interact with the natural world. I love how they interface with Eywha (or however you spell it). There was so much cool stuff to discover, and it was presented in such an interesting way, that I could easily overlook the writing flaws.

I think that’s Cameron’s great strength as a writer / director. He has the gift for creating worlds, and Pandora is a world I’d like to spend more time in, albeit in smaller chunks (156 minutes is too damn long).

In short, I thought this was a thoroughly entertaining blockbuster flick, and for those expecting something other than a blockbuster, I’d just say “What did you think you were getting yourself into?”

On a side note, I had an interesting conversation with a couple of writer friends about the 3D technology Avatar uses a few days before the film was released. I argued that the technology, while undoubtedly pretty, wouldn’t change things in the long run. My friend disagreed.

Now that I’ve actually seen the tech in action, I’m still pretty confident that it’s not going to completely revolutionize the way we watch movies.

Seeing the world of Pandora in 3D was incredible, but do we really need to see My Dinner With Andre in 3D? How about Up In The Air?

I think the most likely scenario is that a few big blockbusters a year (if that) will be shot in 3D, everything else will stay the same. The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

