Typing Faster

April 22, 2010

Hulu: Now Only $9.95 A Month

Filed under: Future of TV, Hulu, Kvetch — petertypingfaster @ 8:45 am

That’s right folks, Hulu’s gone subscription. They’ve been talking about doing this for a while, but the implementation isn’t quite what I was expecting.

The popular online video site would continue to provide free access to the five most recent episodes of popular shows from Fox, ABC, NBC and other Hulu content providers. Viewers who want access to additional older episodes would pay the $9.95 a month. It is unclear how many episodes the subscription would give viewers, but it is said to be “a more comprehensive selection.”

So you’d be paying to get access to older episodes. I’d expect that translates to entire seasons, but until they make an official announcement there’s no way to know for sure.

The other big question is whether or not the subscription based service will be commercial free.

It is also unclear if Hulu Plus members will be able to watch shows commercial free. Speaking of commercials, the Times also claims that “Ultimately, Hulu is expected to adopt the same commercial loads as network television.” ugh… Are the television networks that dead set on pushing viewers towards illegal streaming and torrents?

I’ve been expecting Hulu to adopt a commercial heavy model for a while now, but it sure would be a kick in the teeth if their subscription based service had a heavy ad load too.

2 Comments »

  1. It would be nice if HULU wasn’t geoblocked for us foreigners, I could save a few bucks and drop the cable side of my internet/cable bill. I’m rather unhappy that in trying to think of a Canadian show that I would miss… I come up with nothing.

    What they could do to keep me away from HULU is to load up with commercials and then not allow me to skip them. I am a capitalist pig who doesn’t mind a commercial breaking up the acts in a tv show. “A” commercial. And it would be nice if they actually targeted me. I am not interested in fast food or slow cars but I’ll watch a 30 second infomercial from Hewlett Packard on their latest tablet idea to kick the iPad’s skinny butt- or one for the Chevy Camaro. Let me rate the commercial and give me a “never show me this frakkin’ POS commercial again” button – and then sift the results. This will give the advertisers good metrics and hopefully pull the weeds out of my viewing time.

    But load it up with six or seven commercials at every interstitial and I’ll be back to my DVR post haste.

    Comment by Clint Johnson — April 22, 2010 @ 11:31 am

  2. I’d pay $9.95 a month to have access to the content on Hulu as an out-of-country subscriber.

    Hell, I could pull the plug on the $50 a month I’m paying for cable.

    Since we’re only paying our broadcasters to import American shows to Canada anyways… I say cut out the middle man and sign me up. I’m all for saving $40 a month.

    Comment by Brandon — April 22, 2010 @ 11:57 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

