Typing Faster

January 16, 2011

What? I have a blog?

Filed under: Me, Working — petertypingfaster @ 8:18 am

Obviously I kind of fell off the blogging wagon. Partly because I feel I’m running out of things to say, partly because it’s been a really busy few months. So what have I been up to since September?

Let’s see, (and in no particular order)…

  • Wrote another pilot, then promptly rewrote the shit out of it. I’m still rewriting (Draft number four! Wheeeee!). This is what happens when everyone around you are perfectionists, the notes just keep on coming…
  • Wrote 6…no 7…pitch documents. Some of them I’m happy with, some of them I’m not. Some of them I’m still working on, some of them I’m hoping will be quickly forgotten.
  • Wrote a spec, planning on rewriting the shit out of it. The only reason that I haven’t promptly rewritten the shit out of it is because I just finished it over Christmas break. Pretty happy with the way it turned out. Took a couple false starts before I figured out a story I was happy with, but think I got it. It’s a Good Wife in case anyone was wondering.
  • (Was) Volunteered to help write an ongoing webseries. Tights and Fights: Ashes! The best superhero comedy on the entire world wide web! It’s been a lot of fun. I think my title is Transmedia Story Director / Writer. I’m in charge of directing our weekly live twitter performances, and helping write our weekly low intensity (blog, twitter, facebook) character storylines. Though why anyone would put me in charge of anything is beyond me…
  • Helped story edit and write another webseries. Principal photography started today. Pretty in Geek!. Coming soon to a YouTube channel near you!
  • Writing another webseries with friends. We have first draft scripts for all episodes. Launching into rewrites next week.
  • Breaking and outlining a TV movie. Why? Because I’m a masochist, that’s why.
  • Story Editing a feature length documentary. I started out primarily working in the documentary world, and I kind of miss it. This was a chance to help some nice folks out with crafting a cool doc.
  • Oh yeah, and then there’s that freelance producing work. You know, the stuff that pays the bills. I helped put together five (six?) funding applications, digital media plans and other assorted miscellany in that time. My batting average is pretty good too. I think seventy or eighty percent of the funding applications I’ve completed in the past year received funding. I like to think that’s because of my application wizardry, not the creative material or the companies involved. Leave me my delusions.

So yeah, its been busy.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do with this blog going forward, but I guess time will tell…

Stay tuned!

2 Comments »

  1. Hey there –
    Quick question. I’m also writing a Good Wife spec – but have been having a hard time finding any scripts other than the pilot. (I even contacted CBS – wish I knew someone who could go to the production office in Brooklyn.) Did you manage to get your hands on any of the scripts besides the pilot?
    Any help would be much appreciated!
    Thanks.

    Comment by Felicia — January 24, 2011 @ 1:39 pm

  2. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post!
    It’s the little changes which will make the greatest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

    Comment by Trick Photography and special effects — September 21, 2013 @ 1:32 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

